Prof. Dr. Mark Pauly

Room: BC 348
Phone: +41 21 693 52 34
Email: mark.pauly@epfl.ch

Short Bio

Mark Pauly is full professor at the School of Computer and Communication Sciences at EPFL. Prior to joining EPFL, he was assistant professor at the CS department of ETH Zurich since April 2005. From August 2003 to March 2005 he was a postdoctoral scholar at Stanford University, where he also held a position as visiting assistant professor during the summer of 2005. He received his Ph.D. degree (with distinction) in 2003 from ETH Zurich and his M.S. degree (with highest honors) in 1999 from TU Kaiserslautern. His research interests include computer graphics, geometry processing, digital fabrication, and computational design. He was recipient of a full-time scholarship of the German National Merit Foundation, received the ETH medal for outstanding dissertation, was awarded the Eurographics Young Researcher Award in 2006, an ERC Starting Grant in 2010, and the Eurographics Outstanding Technical Contributions Award in 2016.

Curriculum Vitae


Administrative Assistant:

Madeleine Robert

Room: BC 347
Phone: +41 21 693 75 21
Email: madeleine.robert@epfl.ch


Seiichi Suzuki

Room: BC 344
Email: seiichi.suzuki@epfl.ch
Research Topic(s): Architectural Geometry, Computational Design.


Florin Isvoranu

Room: BC 349
Email: florin.isvoranu@epfl.ch

Filip Goč

Room: BC 349
Email: filip.goc@epfl.ch

PhD Students:

Quentin Becker

Room: BC 346
Email: quentin.becker@epfl.ch
Research Topic(s): Deployable Structures, Machine Learning, Inverse Problems, Generative Models

Uday Kusupati

Room: BC 346
Email: uday.kusupati@epfl.ch
Research Topic(s): Deployable Structures, Smart Materials, Inverse Problems

Michele Vidulis

Room: BC 344
Email: michele.vidulis@epfl.ch
Research Topic(s): Deployable Structures, Computational Design

PhD Alumni:

Ziqi Wang

next position: Postdoc at ETH Zurich

Mina Konakovic

next position: Postdoc at MIT

Anastasia Tkach

next position: Google

Alexandru-Eugen Ichim

next position: Facebook

Stefan Lienhard

next position: VirtaMed

Minh Dang

next position: Dassault Systemes

Sofien Bouaziz

next position: Apple

Mario Deuss

next position: VirtaMed

Yuliy Schwartzburg

next position: Postdoctoral Scholar at EPFL

Duygu Ceylan

next position: Researcher at Adobe Research

Hao Li

next position: Professor at University of Southern California

Michael Eigensatz

next position: Software Engineer at Cyfex AG

Bálint Miklós

next position: Software Engineer at Google

Richard Keiser

next position: Head of Engineering at Vizrt

Postdoc Alumni:

Tim Chen

next position: Assistant professor at University of Houston

Julian Panetta

next position: Assistant professor at UC Davis

Christopher Brandt

next position: paternity leave

Peng Song

next position: Professor at Singapore University of Technology and Design

Niranjan Thanikachalam

next position: Rayform

Yuliy Schwartzburg

next position: Rayform

Andrea Tagliasacchi

next position: Professor at University of Victoria

Bailin Deng

next position: Lecturer at Cardiff University

Boris Neubert

next position: Professor at Karlsruhe Institut of Technology (KIT)

Juyong Zhang

next position: Professor at University of Science and Technology of China (USTC)

Thibaut Weise

next position: CEO at faceshift AG

Brian Amberg

next position: CTO at faceshift AG

Hao Li

next position: Professor at University of Southern California

Camille Wormser

next position: Software Engineer at Google

Bob Sumner

next position: Associate Director at Disney Research


Liane Makatura

September 2017 - July 2018

Summer Interns:

Yuwei Xiao

2019 Summer

Jie Pan

2019 Summer

Jean Jouve

2019 Summer

Xiaofei Wang

2018 Summer

Yingying (Samara) Ren

2018 Summer

Anna Goncharova

2018 Summer

Other past members:

Robin Jodon

Ulysse Martel